I did a thing that left my husband scratching his head…..

My intentions were to post this a few days ago when our southern weather was still mid 60’s/ low 70’s…I guess now all my warm weather lovers can day dream as you read this post.

Ya’ll, a few weeks ago I told my husband I wanted to create myself a potting shed in our not so cute wood shed in our back yard. Probably half paying attention, he muttered, “Okay,” and went on about his business. Days later, I came home from visiting my parents with a car load of stuff to make my potting shed vision come to life. His exact response after viewing the back of my car was, “Are you just bored to death and looking for things to keep yourself busy? That’s a wood shed…” I hope you read that with your most puzzled voice because that’s exactly how he sounded. I laughed and told him to just wait.

Andrew has a difficult time visualizing my ideas majority of the time; however, I can usually convince him to join my team. He agreed, my potting shed is quite adorable, and this week’s post is simply pictures of my sweet little shed tucked in our back yard.

Here’s a before picture…Some of the stuff in this photo I re-positioned before remembering to snap a before picture.

And here’s the after, which is proof the ugliest of spaces can be transformed with the right amount of TLC. It’s both practical with a hint of Krissie style.

Fresh Flowers sign painted by yours truly & hung by Andrew. The sunflower picture frame has little wires strung across it and mini clothes pins on it. I’m going to use it to hang my flower seeds.

I literally spent ZERO money on this project. Everything pictured was items myself or my mom had stashed away anxiously awaiting it’s time to be put to good use.

My favorite part is by far the chandelier, which will have a pretty green vine planted in each little porcelain pot this coming spring. I scored the chandelier a few year ago at a junk store for a whopping $3.00. I used wire cutters to remove the ugly wires and purchased some mini flower pots with wood bases off Amazon with intentions of making my planter chandelier. Those intentions got pushed to the side until my recent vision for my potting shed. Check out the before picture:

Even though I’m thankful for fall, my favorite time of year, I’m excited for spring so I can plant my flowers in the chandelier and string some cute lights from the beams. Consider this a pre-show of whats to come 🙂

In all my talk of creating a potting shed, my mom was inspired to turn a forgotten portion of her patio into her very own potting shed. While visiting, together we spruced up her area. Take a look at the before:

After:

She took hers a step further and added potted plants which is a nice touch.

These were fun and quick projects we enjoyed doing together. We both love our little spaces. Maybe now yard work and flowers won’t seem like such a chore.


Verse of the Week

“Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without even knowing it.”

Hebrews 13:1-2 (NIV Bible)

I am still on my journey of reading the Bible cover to cover. This week, I read Hebrews, and this particular verse resonated in my heart. Tis the holiday season where we all feel that extra tug to spread love and joy to others. What if we carried that same urge with us all year long? Jesus spread hospitality everywhere he went just by loving people and not casting judgement. We never know a strangers situation or story. We never know whether he or she is an angel on earth. Spreading hospitality is more than opening our home to others. It’s opening ourselves and our hearts to others.


OOTW

Flower Mamas, have no fear…My plants are all safe and sound in my sun room until after the last frost of spring next year. This is another photo taken prior to chopping off three inches of hair… All this outfit is missing is a chunky cardigan for these 50ish degree days!


Thanks for reading this week’s post!


 This website/ Blog is created by the author (myself) for both entertainment and informative purposes. The information provided within this blog post is designed to provide helpful information to readers based on my point of view, experiences, and/or opinion. Please use your own discretion and do your own research before committing to information from this post. Any additional links to other sites, blog posts, or web pages that may be shared on my blog posts are meant as additional references only, based on my opinion of the shared links and it’s relative content. I do not claim ownership to any shared links that redirect readers to other blog posts or web sites. I also do not claim ownership to any quotes referenced from other authors.  
  • Funky Fun Basement

    April 1, 2024 by

    Before we begin, I will have all links available at bottom of this post. I do receive a commission if you choose to shop the links provided. My friend allowed me to fulfill all my colorful leopard dreams with her basement design! She has been telling me she wanted help with her basement (mainly the… Read more

  • Dreamy Baby Girl’s Nursery

    February 20, 2024 by

    Many of you reading know I’m a boy mom. Having the opportunity to style a baby girl’s room was so much fun! All the girly details of this room is pure magic. These clients are repeat clients (kind of), which is the greatest compliment. I’ve done work for their family in the past. When they… Read more

  • Cozy Living Room + Kitchen Design pt 2

    January 28, 2024 by

    When I tell you this was my biggest project to date, I’m not joking! I have not completed a project yet where tile was involved. Can I just say, this is not for the faint of heart. Choosing tile is fun, but can be very stressful. There are so many beautiful options. Aside from the… Read more

  • Spa DIY Gift

    January 17, 2024 by

    Don’t let me lose you at DIY if thats just not your thing. I’ll share links at end of this post in case you want simple and easy. Because gift giving is my love language, it’s often how I love on others. I’m always looking for creative or unique teacher gifts or friends and family… Read more

  • Cozy Living Room + Kitchen Design pt 1

    January 11, 2024 by

    I started talking about this design project via my social media stories in September! Because of life, I am just now January 2024 getting around to sharing the beauty that is my friend’s updated living room. For those that don’t know, I dabble in interior design. No, I don’t have a degree in interior design…I… Read more

View all posts

Author: ageelife101

Hi, Welcome to Ageelife101! l am a stay at home mom and life style blogger. The goal of my site is to create, inspire, and encourage women of all ages and stages of life. Follow me on Instagram @ageelife101

Leave a comment